The Thursday Ten: 11/3/16


Last week saw an extreme lack of content, and as a result, the week of 10/23-10/29 was the first week without a “The Thursday Ten” post since the segment was first announced.  However, we are back this week with the latest “The Thursday Ten”.  For those of you who read the last installment to the segment, you will remember that the ratings for the 10 records mentioned all received scores within the range of 7/10-9/10.  Even though these ratings are a representation of my honest opinion of the albums, I understand that the ratings from the previous post might seem inflated, and that an average reader might think that almost every album receives around an 8/10.  In order to disprove this assumption, I decided to rate some albums that were released this year that I was not very fond of, in order to show a more broad spectrum of where certain records may fall on the rating system for “The Thursday Ten”.  The rules for giving these ratings have not changed and each album mentioned can be listened to on any major streaming service, and I highly encourage you to give them a listen!  Also, the previous “The Thursday Ten” is posted below and of course, if you disagree with any rating or want to submit a record to be rated, let us know in the comments or shot us an email!  Here is this week’s “The Thursday Ten”:

  1. Periphery – Periphery III: Select Difficulty: 8/10
  2. D.R.A.M. – Big Baby D.R.A.M.: 5/10
  3. The Word Alive – Dark Matter: 5/10
  4. Chelsea Grin – Self Inflicted: 5/10
  5. River Oaks – River Oaks – EP: 6/10
  6. Desiigner – New English: 7/10
  7. I Prevail – Lifelines: 7/10
  8. AlunaGeorge – I Remember: 4/10
  9. Jimmy Eat World – Integrity Blues: 6/10
  10. Drake (singles) – Fake Love: 6/10 – Sneakin’ (feat. 21 Savage): 7/10

The previous “The Thursday Ten”:

Breaking News: Silverstein Release New Music Video For Latest Single and Announce A New Album For 2017


One of the most notable acts in post-hardcore, Canada’s own Silverstein, have released a new single, accompanied with a music video, called “Ghost”.  This is a stand alone single and will most likely not be included in an upcoming release.  However, with this announcement came a statement from the band saying that a new record is in the works and will be released in 2017.  Silverstein, who will be a band for an outstanding 17 years next year, have managed to continue this success with their last few releases and have also been able to connect with both older and newer fans in the post-hardcore genre.

I personally love Silverstein and have enjoyed their entire discography, regardless of when an album or individual song was released, but after listening to “Ghost” I am not thrilled with this new sound.  It is obvious to any listener that “Ghost” is a blatant rip off of the band Beartooth and completely lacks originality and the signature Silverstein sound.  In fact, Silverstein and Beartooth have performed together simultaneously on one stage as “Silvertooth”, so I wouldn’t be surprised if Silverstein is attempting to imitate them in order to experience the massive growth in fan base that Beartooth has seen over the last few years.

However, this speculation is over just one single, so there is a very good chance I am overthinking the situation.  I hope that Silverstein showcases their unique sound in their 2017 release, especially since they are so monumental to the post-hardcore genre itself.  It would be really disappointing to Silverstein manipulate their classic sound to fit a trend, but regardless, their influence and impact on the post-hardcore genre will never change and their material up until now will still be amazing, no matter what next year’s album will sound like.

Watch the new music video below and let us know what you think of the new Silverstein track!